Notes on TechEd 2013 North America

I attended my first ever TechEd conference last week, and what a deal that was. Definitely, an awesome place to be at. A ton of people, I heard close to 10K, but cannot confirm. The place was New Orleans, LA at the convention center.

I think to summarize my experience there, and looking ahead, I could say

    • A great conference to attend for sure. Your time will not be wasted and it is worth every penny you spend on it
    • Great content with a wide array of topics and choices for the IT Pro and Developer types who are looking to grow and expand their skillsets beyond what they do everyday
    • The speakers are awesome and well known in their respective industries
    • Interesting set of vendors. I saw few that appear at the SharePoint Conferences, but also a ton of vendors I never heard of
    • The closing party was really cool, with Tina Tuner showing up and Drew Brees throwing footballs to attendees
    • And yes, we all got a couple of Surface devices. Each attendee had a choice to buy one or both: a Surface Pro and/or Surface RT at a discounted price
    • I loved the Birds of Feather sessions or should I say BOF sessions
    • I got to see some of my friends from the SharePoint community, which was all awesomeness
    • There were some really cool announcements on Azure pricing, such as: not paying for stopped services / instances. In the past, we would shut down a service and we would have had to delete it. Now, we can just leave it out there in a Stopped state.

Check out the Keynote for more http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmerica/2013/Key01#fbid=B2JfTpWjgos

Now, from a messaging and content standpoint, the following key topics were addressed in a lot of different ways

  • Cloud First Architecture and what that means
  • Hybrid models with Office 365, Azure, SharePoint
  • System Center and Private Cloud
  • Self Service BI along with Big Data Analytics
  • A ton of developer content on
    • SharePoint Apps + Hosting models
    • Windows Phone and Windows 8

Anyways, overall, what a great conference. I hope to be able to make it to one again.

Till next time, take it easy

#SharePoint #CharPoint #TTC

Links and Resources

Official TechEd site http://northamerica.msteched.com

Channel9 event site http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmerica/2013

About jharbieh

I'm an IW Solutions Architect with background in requirements gathering, planning, design, architecture, and development (not necessarily in the right order). Currently, my focus is on the Microsoft Productivity and Collaboration space. Hope you enjoy what I write about here. Thanks for visiting. Johnny Harbieh
This entry was posted in Conferences and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.