Event ID: 8085 – Business Data Connectivity Service Application is not accessible

Hey all, it has been a while since I last blogged about something. I’ve been pretty busy lately. Most of us, SharePoint guys and gals, are I think. Fun stuff though. I visited my family in Lebanon this summer. It has been since 2004 last time I saw them. It was good. I really enjoyed it. I’ve been also trying to find my niche in the next version of SharePoint (2013=15=v5) and I think I did Smile.

Anyways, today was a good reminder for me that everyday in the World of SharePoint is a new day. Be a student. Stay a student. Most of us by now have been touched by the STS and its magnificent powers in SharePoint. All cool with it, until I tried to configure my BDC Service Application.

The Story

Few days ago, I uninstalled SharePoint Server 2010 Standard from my Windows 7 machine and installed Foundation 2010 using Single/Standalone mode. I love Foundation. Lean. Mean. Powerful machine. Next task for me was to go ahead and configure my BDC service application. I created the service app and the proxy. Now, when I went to click on the Manage button in the Ribbon (see figure below) I ran into a nasty error. I’m going OK, I’ve seen this before, but I can’t remember. It’s not like this is my first time configuring the BDC, but hey, an old man like myself, yeah, I tend to forget things. Anyways, I couldn’t remember the solution. So I started digging…

image

The Digging

So I looked into many places, I opened the ULS Viewer, I got my Windows Event Log up, Fiddler is happy, SharePoint 2010 Management Shell is all cute, I am BINGING the deal (432,000,000 results), I got some green tea (I thought this would help digest this) … anyways, moving on.

 The Errors

At the end of the day, I thought, I have to write this down. What I found were these five consecutive error messages. Nothing you’ve never seen before. It’s more like I needed to get a blog post out soon before the end of the world Smile

#1

An exception occurred when trying to issue security token: An error occurred while receiving the HTTP response to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc/actas. This could be due to the service endpoint binding not using the HTTP protocol. This could also be due to an HTTP request context being aborted by the server (possibly due to the service shutting down). See server logs for more details..

#2

An exception occurred when trying to issue security token: An error occurred while receiving the HTTP response to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc/actas. This could be due to the service endpoint binding not using the HTTP protocol. This could also be due to an HTTP request context being aborted by the server (possibly due to the service shutting down). See server logs for more details..

#3

The BDC Service application Business Data Connectivity Service Application is not accessible. The full exception text is: An error occurred while receiving the HTTP response to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc/actas. This could be due to the service endpoint binding not using the HTTP protocol. This could also be due to an HTTP request context being aborted by the server (possibly due to the service shutting down). See server logs for more details.

#4

An exception occurred when trying to issue security token: An error occurred while receiving the HTTP response to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc. This could be due to the service endpoint binding not using the HTTP protocol. This could also be due to an HTTP request context being aborted by the server (possibly due to the service shutting down). See server logs for more details..

#5

The SharePoint Health Analyzer detected a condition requiring your attention.  The Security Token Service is not available.
The Security Token Service is not issuing tokens. The service could be malfunctioning or in a bad state.
Administrator should try to restart the Security Token Service on the boxes where it is not issuing tokens. If problem persists, further troubleshooting may be available in the KB article. For more information about this rule, see “http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=160531”.

The Troubleshooting

Well, I figured I’d look into few things. Firewall, IIS, STS Web.Config file and checkout the bindings, the Application Pool identity, .NET version, WCF fix, SSL certificates, ACLs, I don’t remember touching any of this. This should work I thought. Should I be on the domain? Should I VPN in and try it again? May be the SSL cert required for the STS is corrupt. I don’t know. I don’t remember. So I moved on to BING and boom boom pow.

The Answer

KB Article 249352 – http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2493524

Everything checked out except for the unexpected; The authentication methods that were allowed on the SecureTokenServiceApplication IIS web application were not correct. I don’t remember touching those. How the heck did they change? I learned something or should I say re-learned something; “The authentication settings page should only have Windows and Anonymous access enable for the security token service to issue tokens properly (and for claims authentication to work properly)”, the KB article says Smile

image

I was too tired to go after this and figure out the “why” and “what” behind all of this. I made the changes recommended by the article and I was done. I made sure all authentication methods except for Anonymous and Windows are Disabled. See figure below.

image

At the end, problem is solved and I can move on.

Take it easy,

About jharbieh

I'm an IW Solutions Architect with background in requirements gathering, planning, design, architecture, and development (not necessarily in the right order). Currently, my focus is on the Microsoft Cloud, Productivity and Collaboration space. Hope you enjoy what I write about here. Thanks for visiting. Johnny Harbieh
This entry was posted in SharePoint Administration. Bookmark the permalink.